Day 4 – Geoboard Triangles

Overheated again in the school.  Today, my classroom hovered between 85 and 90. Classes were moved where possible and my class could not move 😦 This is not conducive to learning and my lesson was missing some key elements that prevented it from working.  I read a solid lesson on Geoboard Triangles in the August issue of NCTM.  I was ready to execute the lesson, just my students weren’t.  I completely discounted the effect of needing the pythagorean theorem in determining the triangles.  I think this is one of those cases where teaching in urban areas is less forgiving than I would like.  Next time I teach this lesson, students will need to work on the concepts behind the distance formula first.

Leave a Reply

