Day 33 – Transformation Reengagement

Using a strategy that I found effective in the past, I had all of the students retake the Initial assessment and go through the responses for all of the assessment.  Students get to see how much they have learned and feel some pride.  I then had the students create challenge questions for their partners.  However, the protocol that I used did not work.  I motivated the students too much to create a difficult problem to stump their partner.  They refused to give the problem to their partner because it was not difficult enough.  

Here are the rules I set up… If you set up a problem (that you create a correct answer key) that they can solve, they get a point.  If you set up a problem (that you create a correct answer key) that they cannot solve, you get a point. If you set up a problem (that you create an incorrect answer key) that they can solve, they get a point and you lose 2 points. If you set up a problem (that you create an incorrect answer key) that they cannot solve, no one gets a point. 

I think this idea is motivating for students, I will have to rethink the rules of the process.

Leave a Reply

